Friday Mish-Mash

Happy Friday!

It’s been another busy week…

Pics:

IMG_0624

No, I’m not being eco-friendly. My dryer broke 😦

Honestly, though, I’ve been waiting for this to happen. We’ve had our Samsung washer and dryer for five years and never had to make a repair. I took apart the dryer and cleaned it out a couple months ago because it needed it… but even after cleaning it out I noticed it wasn’t drying quite like it was supposed to.

That heating element lasted five full years including two absolutely horrible winters in South Bend. It fought the -30º air blasting in through the duct to dry our clothes, and I don’t blame it for conking out.

Good news is that I already knew how to open up the dryer! So, we ordered the part online and are going to install it as soon as it gets here tomorrow. Until then, Oklahoma sun and wind to the rescue!

It’s very effective, actually… I don’t like that towels are stiff after drying outside, but everything else is pretty good, especially if the wind has been whipping it around.

IMG_0607

Busy-Day-Cake with strawberries and homemade vanilla ice cream. So good. So summer. So noms-noms-noms.

Links:

I laughed until I cried when I watched the videos in this Deadspin post.
Warning: contains adult language and people getting injured.

Also contains some language, though it is bleeped. This English man stood up to the terrorist thugs!

My children aren’t old enough for sex ed that actually deals with intercourse. They know about body parts (a perk of having boys and a girl!), and I’m trying to impress upon them some concept of private parts, though they are all totally comfortable running around in the nude (not a bad thing?).
This post on Design Mom deals with sex advice for an 18 year old girl who hasn’t had much in the way of sex ed.
Thoughts? Do you have a favorite curriculum for sexual education?

 

~ Lee

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

