Planning for the Next Year

Hello! How’s your Thursday?

I’ve been coming up with a battle plan for next year, regarding the kids’ schooling. How about you? Are you planning to homeschool? To move to traditional school? To radically change your approach to your kids’ education? Or just continue with more of the same?

As I mentioned in Monday’s post, I’ve learned this year that the more organized I am, the better off we all are.

So, to that end, I’m going to purchase some 3-ring binders tomorrow at Wally World and go ahead and photocopy all of the worksheets out of the math books for next year. If they’re photocopied and in the binder, that saves so much hassle. All I need to do is write the date at the top (or have Becky do it herself, which she should start doing in the fall), and we’re off!

I also hope to go ahead and plot out some basic goals as far as what we need to get done each week, including, maybe (if I really get my act together!) a reading schedule and corresponding coloring pages or activities. I really, really hope I get all of that done.

Without a doubt, I’ll get all the photocopying and hole-punching done. It sounds so simple, but it makes a world of difference to have that done ahead of time.

Also, Becky is a strong reader for her age, but I need to come up with a good way to make sure that she’s advancing in her reading and vocabulary and actually learning to pronounce new words correctly.

I think I need to find a good vocabulary list and just have her read the words aloud to me so that we can pin point words she doesn’t know or understand.

There are loads of word lists online–does anyone have a favorite?

~ Lee

One thought on “Planning for the Next Year

Add yours

  1. I don’t know of any vocabulary lists online, because we usually pull our vocabulary from whatever books we happen to be reading at the time. (This way my daughter can see the word in a full sentence at the onset and maybe get ahead of understanding the context and meaning of the word.) But I hear you about being more organized! I’m doing my best to keep a better portfolio of the work we do this year with hanging folders in our filing cabinet. đŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

