Our Favorite Games: Oregon Trail

This weekend, Ray got bored and was starting to misbehave. He asked to play a game, and I acquiesced. Don’t get me wrong, I love games–board games, card games, video games… I down for pretty much any kind of game.

But, as you’re probably aware, playing games with little kids can be extremely tedious.

Part of how I relieve this tedium is by insisting that my kids play games like Chess and Catan, rather than just Chutes and Ladders.

This time, Ray selected Oregon Trail, which I gifted to the Hubster for Christmas.

IMG_0385

The kids named themselves, obviously.

IMG_0386

When we’re playing as a family, we leave in all of the cards and usually die before we get to Oregon. When it’s just me and the kids, I remove the “insta-death” cards to help streamline the process and make it a little more fun for the littles.
IMG_0388

Matching! Lining things up! Developing fine motor skills! (hopefully)

At their ages, I file games under the “school” heading.

I forgot to grab a shot of it with my phone, but we made it to Oregon!!!!! BARELY!!! Ray had Cholera and Becky’s turn was the LAST opportunity to make it to Oregon before our broken wagon wheel killed us all.

But we made it, folks! *insert happy prospector dance*

~ Lee

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

