Organization That Grows With You

During “the graduate school years,” we didn’t have much extra money. However, we also needed a way to organize our belongings… specifically, the kids’ belongings. When Becky moved out of the crib and into her own room, I realized that I didn’t have a good way to keep her clothes. We had a dresser that doubled as a changing table, but I really needed that space for Ray’s clothes and the diapers and wipes.

I could hang almost all of Becky’s clothes, but I wanted it to be easier for her to start putting her clothes away and taking them out all by herself.

So, I went to Target and bought some white cubes and a couple of pink and purple baskets that fit the dimensions. For the rest of our grad school years, those served as Becky’s dresser–her leggings, shorts, underwear, and socks lived in the baskets, and her shirts were hung up above. It worked rather well, and it was a heck of a lot cheaper and space-efficient than a dresser.

Cubes found their way into our living room closet as well. The living room was where the kids played in our South Bend home, and I needed a way to contain the toys. I opted for cubes once again, because I figured they would be flexible storage that could be used for many other things later on.

My instincts were correct.

IMG_0378

The cubes on the bottom were once Becky’s dresser. The other two were in my pantry in South Bend. They’ve been repurposed, and I’m pleased with the effect.

The nice thing about the cubes is that the cube-u-lar (?) design is sturdy–much sturdier than the bookcases you can buy for the same price from Walmart or Target. In my experience, cubes hold up to a cross-state move much better than the cheap-o bookcases.

Also, they’re versatile. They store toys as well as they store books or DvDs, and the ones with adjustable shelves help allow for the awkward sizes of many toddler toys.

Cubes are useful in multiple rooms, and they’re good and generic. You can dress them up or leave them bare and they’re functional and decent-looking either way. They don’t call attention to themselves unless you want them to, and can easily be used inside closets or out in the open.

I love this kind of storage. As much as I enjoy the aesthetic of a beautiful built-in, I wouldn’t want them in a space that needs to change regularly, like a child’s bedroom. Kid’s change so much over the years, and the things they carry around with them change, too. Toys don’t fit well on bookshelves, and books don’t sit well on wire storage.

I’m glad I decided to go with a storage option that wasn’t completely situation-specific. I was trying to get something that would last through the years and fit various needs and times of life, and I think I did it 🙂

~ Lee

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

