To Co-Op or Not To Co-Op?

My oldest will be in first grade next year, and I recently met some moms who are starting a co-op.

I remember loving our education co-op the year that we did it. I enjoyed taking classes in specific subjects, and most of all I enjoyed the social opportunities every week.
I’m definitely looking forward to my kids being able to participate in a co-op, but right now I’m wondering, is there a point during first grade?

I guess what I want from a co-op is something that enriches, not replaces. I remember taking Art, Shakespeare, and Debate–things that were better in a group and we’re necessarily something we were going to tackle at home. Had we kept going to co-op, I might’ve taken something like High School Biology with other kids and participated in all the dissections.

But for first grade? I’m just not sure if it’s worth the time commitment, and I don’t know yet about cost.

What has your experience been with co-ops? Are they worth it for young students?

 

~ Lee

5 thoughts on “To Co-Op or Not To Co-Op?

Add yours

  1. Co-ops vary so much in our area – it’s hard to know how things will work for my young kids. Something that has really worked for us are forest play groups. We get together once a week and go spend time exploring the woods: social time, learning time, and free play, all in one.

    Like

    1. For some people, homeschooling does = co-op. I know that some families couldn’t manage homeschooling without that extra structure and outsourcing, and I certainly don’t have anything bad to say about that 🙂

      You’re exactly right: There isn’t *one* right way to do this. That’s part of what makes it so cool.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

